NEWS – 17TH June 2012

NEWS  – 17TH June 2012

EUCHARISTIC  CONGRESS Emly parish was represented today at the final celebration and Mass of the International  Eucharistic Congress in Croke Park. At home, a special Mass of Community was celebrated in our parish church at 11am this morning. It was a joyful occasion of music and song. At the beginning of the Mass the altar and church was decorated with flowers by the local tidy town committee.  Each organisation was represented at the offertory procession – a symbol of the strength of our community. The photo shows the altar with some of the...

read more

NEWS – 26th February 2012

EMLY  COMMUNITY  COUNCIL The following committee members were recently elected to Emly Community Council:- Chair: Rodney McManus; Secr: Larry Joy; Treas: John McGrath; P.R.O: Michael Ryan; Comm: Marita Mulhall, Noel McGrath, Seamus Walsh, Fr. Seamus Rochford, Peter Breen, Marie McGrath, Gillian Moore, Michelle Ryan, Catherine O’Heney, John Alymer, Ann Smith, Denis Connolly, David Marshall, Jonas Callanan, Mary McKnight.

read more

NEWS – 19th February 2012

DEAD The death has taken place during the week of brothers Fr. Michael Roche OSA, Birmingham and John Roche. Walkinstown, Dublin who were natives of Emly. They were the sons of John Roche who was organist in Emly parish church and Brigid Roche a former principal of Emly Girl’s National School.

read more

NEWS – 12th February 2012

NEWS –  12th February 2012

FILM  AWARD Congratulations to Nicholas Ryan-Purcell, formerly of Emly, who recently won a film award in Kentucky, USA. His short five minute silent film entitled ‘Silent Film’ was shot at Cloughjordan railway station near where Nicholas and his family now lives. It features a cast of three which includes his father Oliver and sister Joanna. Nicholas is studying television and film production at Balluyermot College of Further Education. Nicholas accompanied by his mother Dorothy attended the award giving ceremony in Kentucky.   TIDY ...

read more

NEWS – 5th February 2012

EMLY  TENNIS  CLUB The following officers were appointed at the recent AGM of Emly tennis club:- Chairman: Stephen McInerney; Secretary : Gillian Heuston; Treasurer : Michael Kemp; P.R.O : Liz Creamer

read more