NEWS – 19th December 2010


Emly had some successes in last Monday night’s South Tipperary Environmental Awards ceremony held in Bru Boru Cultural Centre in Cashel.

Emly was placed first in the Large Village category.

Emly National School won an award for litter awareness and appreciation of the environment.

Denis Heffernan, founder and first chairman of Emly Tidy Town committee was given an Environmental Champion Award for his work in creating an awareness of the environment in his community.

Contact Information

Fr. Bernard Moloney, P.P. – 06257111; 0876366656

Fr. Seamus Rochford, A.P. – 06257103; 0868162660.

SCHOOL: St. Ailbe’s National School
PRINCIPAL: Pauline Finnan
VICE PRINCIPAL: Joseph Hennessy.

Quick Facts

POP. of the PARISH: c. 820

POPULAR SURNAMES: Burke (Bourke), Ryan, Lonergan, McEniry.

LOCATION: 14km West of Tipperary Town, historical barony of Clanwilliam

Emly was established as an episcopal see in 1118 by the Synod of Ráth Breasail.