National Tidy Town Awards – 19th September 2012

Denis Heffernan, founding chairman of Emly Tidy Town Committee.

Emly has once more featured prominently at the National Town Awards ceremony which took place today in the Helix Theatre, Dublin. Emly won the following awards:-

REGIONAL AWARD (€2000). The Region encompasses counties Carlow, Kilkenny, Tipperary South, Waterford, and Wexford.


CLIMATE  AWARD (€1000)  This is a special competition sponsored by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government, to raise awareness of climate change at a local level, to look at the way activities are carried out with a fresh eye and bring about positive changes which will reduce the impact of climate change.


HERO  AWARD.  Denis Heffernan, founding chairman of Emly tidy town committee was one of 12 people from all over Ireland who were given this Hero Award in recognition of their services to the tidy town movement.